PS Vita Ports: Risk Of Rain

Risk Of rain.png

I’m always looking for games to add to my small, but darling library of vita games. It’s a sad fact that Sony has abandoned the handheld console outside of Japan. Despite that, I wouldn’t give up my vita for anything in the world. While it doesn’t have a strong library as say, the 3DS, it still has its share of great games which need to be played.

Another really good thing about the vita is that it has a decent library of indie titles. It’s more expensive than buying them for your PC, but that’s the price of portability.

Risk of rain is one such title that I’ve been going crazy over lately. I bought it when it first came out and didn’t play much of it, only unlocking a handful of what the game had to offer. I started playing it much more regularly this year and have finished the game several times over since then.

load.png

Risk of rain isn’t a very demanding title. It runs great on my computer and fairly smoothly on the vita.

Something I’ve noticed is that the vita version feels significantly smaller, each generated level is easy to find your way around and you stumble along a generous amount of items on the way. It’s not that the game is easier, it just feels like the spawned items could be found with little effort.

During each different playthrough, I also felt it was easy to get more than ten drones within a small timeframe if you had enough coins. It wasn’t as easy for me on the pc version, which had me scouring the maps endlessly for the exact same thing. I guess they had to make concessions for the port since the vita is limited by its hardware.

In terms of content, the PC and vita versions are the mostly same. Same achievements, skills, items, nothing is cut from the original game. The only thing missing that affected me was the option that allowed me to zoom in.

One downside to this port, however, is the occasional frame rate drops. Risk of rain requires the player to hoard whatever items they can get their hands on and with different items come different effects.

welp.png

Some effects are very flashy, which by itself isn’t a big problem. The problem comes when you find yourself surrounded by enemies with large bosses spawning left and right.

The longer you play, the more difficult the game will be. Monsters that spawn after the half hour mark often feel like damage sponges. You can kill one and four more would pop up in their place, each more aggressive and tanky than before.

There were several times the game began stuttering when there were too many enemies on screen. It didn’t have a big effect on me but I found it annoying since it broke the immersion being a badass character slaughtering everything in their path.

There were times where an item’s effect would make the fps drop horribly, though it wouldn’t remain that way for long.

The ‘Happiest mask’ was one such item. I loved this item since it would spawn a ghost for each killed enemy which is a big help when dealing with a swarm of monsters while using a character who doesn’t have Area of Effect damage.

But whenever I killed a large amount of enemies, causing their ghosts to spawn, the game would inevitably lag for several seconds. Enough to make me annoyed but not enough to cause me grief.

Conclusion

I would recommend this port to those who liked the game on PC and want to have it on the go, but if you had to pick between the vita port and the PC version, I would highly recommend the PC one instead since it gives players a better experience overall.

Leave a Reply

