Why I never finished: Danganronpa – Trigger Happy Havoc

dangan ronpa.png
Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc

This is one of the rarer times where I’ve given up on two games in such quick succession, Bravely default being the first. Trigger happy havoc was a great game during the 8 hours I put into it: the murder-mystery plot is quite interesting, the characters are decent, and the soundtrack is excellent. Unfortunately, I made the hard decision to stop playing because of one of its game mechanics. I can’t judge the game too harshly since it’s the first in the Danganronpa series, but perhaps I’m one of the unlucky ones that didn’t like how the game is played.

In overall tone, the game seems to be a mix of Ace Attorney and Virtue’s Last Reward. Searching for clues and looking for the whodunit is plenty fun. The trouble comes when it’s time to unveil what you found.

Trigger happy havoc puts all characters in one place to verbally duke it out. Accusations are flung like knives, doubts and worries poised to boil over in a span of minutes. During this period, you get the unenviable task of linking the evidence together in order to uncover the true culprit. As such, there’s a bunch of mini-games that determine your success.

Similar to Ace Attorney, you’re given the chance call out lies and reveal the truth. As the story advances and more people drop like flies, the mini-games soon increase in difficulty and become a multi-tasking nightmare, piling up more things for you to do.

For example, ‘Shoot down the false statement,’ soon becomes ‘Shoot down the false statement while avoiding x and y,’ and evolves into ‘Shoot down the false statement while avoiding x and y and hold button to….’

Like…whoa.

After eight hours and three chapters, I decided stop playing because the amount of things the game wanted me to do to progress became absurd. I went from having fun to feeling like I was being tortured.

It feels like the game doesn’t want the player to get bored and comes up with increasingly intricate ways to challenge them, not realizing that you’ve got to draw the line somewhere. I found it agonizing to play the mini-games, which can last upwards of one hour. To make things even more stressful there’s even a timer to make sure you don’t dawdle on your decisions.

Though I didn’t like this part of the game, people who like challenging puzzles and mysteries would take to it like a duck to water.

In the end I think it all comes down to what you like and are willing to put up with. The story in trigger happy havoc was engaging but not enough to force myself to finish it. I did go on Youtube to check out the rest of the game since the only thing I liked was the story. I might pick up the sequels in the future if they took away some of the annoying mini-games but somehow I doubt they would.

Leave a Reply

