Why I never finished: Bravely Default

bd.png

The older I get, the saying that one tends to choose shorter games over longer, sprawling ones seems to be coming true. It’s not the only factor in the grand scheme of things but I think it plays an important role. Bravely default seemed like a great game when I first started. The battle system was interesting, though it took some getting used to, and I enjoyed the battles from the 10 hours I spent on the game. I’m the type who prefers to complete games I start, and I’m not prone to switching games on the fly, so I surprised myself when I made the decision to stop playing Bravely Default within a week I started playing it.

I think it was a combination of getting daunted by how much I had yet to complete and the boredom that was setting in. JRPG’s are notorious for being time sinks, which I’m plenty familiar with since I’ve completed more than my fair share of those types of games, so I know myself enough to decide whether I’d enjoy pushing myself to finish a game.

It’s easy to see why Bravely Default was a hit. The Prologue sunk its hooks into me and didn’t let go until 10 hours later, and both the characters and the battle system were enjoyable throughout. But at some point in my play through, my mind was beginning to drift towards what I would play next. Those kinds of thoughts grew until I was no longer able to ignore them. Throughout the game, my initial interest of its story hadn’t changed.

Then, I did something I rarely did – which was googling to see if the ‘plot’ of Bravely Default would be worth the grind to finish it. And what I found pretty much sealed the deal for me.

It’s a shame that Square Enix shot themselves in the foot by padding the game (or whatever their original intent was). In the end, I decided not to push myself to complete the game because I know I wouldn’t enjoy the grind.

The conclusion? I won’t pick Bravely Default up ever again. But if I ever clear my backlog, I may get its sequel, Bravely Second, because I heard it had a definite improvement over the first one.

6 thoughts on “Why I never finished: Bravely Default

  1. I totally understand this phenomenon. I have run into it many times, especially in recent years when I have a 3DS, a vita, and my trusty gaming PC. There are simply too many games out there to get invested in long titles! Just takes too long and you’re constantly wondering how much longer you have to go until you can play that next cool game.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? Having a 3Ds, Vita and a PC (I recently added a ps4 to my collection as well) makes for a huge library of games that I’d love to play. It stinks to have to be picky but that’s how it is I guess!

      Like

      1. Right now I’m about 12 hours into a play through of Final Fantasy X. It took a lot to get focused on it but after somehow finishing Xenoblade Chronicles (70 hours) I figured a 50 hour game is possible. Gotta start small, I guess!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Why I never finished: Danganronpa – Trigger Happy Havoc | Anime / Yuri / Games

  3. thegaminggeek

    There was padding, for sure, but the game had features that would allow you to bypass most of the padding or at least make it easier. There were a lot of skippable midchapter boss battles, encounters can be turned off completely and you can set battles to auto for grinding. I persevered through the boring chapters and quite honestly, the ending was worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I might have started the game at the wrong time since I was quite busy that month, but from what I played so far I think it was still pretty good. Its great to hear that the ending was worth it for those who persevered, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

