Mob Psycho 100 – Salt splash!

Mob Psycho 100.png

I can see why this anime attracted such a following! It has an interesting premise, fun characters, and is from the creator of the cult hit One Punch Man. I’m unsurprised at how well received it was – I would actually be surprised if it wasn’t.But for all its awesomeness I think Mob Psycho 100 as a whole is kind of… average. While visually impressive, it didn’t capture my heart completely, and I had a bit of a hard time trying to find out why I didn’t love it as much as everyone else. I’ll try my best to state my thoughts in a coherent manner for this review, but keep in mind that this is just my opinion.

Story and Characters

The first half of the anime is near perfect. The setup and introduction of the characters felt fresh and left a strong impression. Although the first six episodes weren’t connected, it was done in a way that I felt perfectly fine with because I understood the world of Mob Psycho 100. The main character, Mob, goes through a series of shenanigans and treats us to many amazing scenes wherein he uses his psychic powers to solve problems caused by ghosts or malicious people.

spirits and such.png
Spirit consultation office

I think one of the reasons why I loved the first half was because it revolved heavily around Mob. He was what made me interested in the show and what kept me watching – I wanted to find out what he would do when he got dragged into hilarious and dangerous situations.

The problem comes after they’ve established Mob and several other characters. In the second half of the show, the focus shifts from Mob to his younger brother. It was a jarring switch since the show had been following Mob closely up to that point. I guess the sudden switch of character perspective was to build the side characters we’ve seen throughout the show but never known intimately.

However, the problem is that I don’t care for Mob’s brother. And add insult to injury, Mob ends up playing second fiddle to his brother until the end. The ending also gave me mixed feelings due to how it came out of left field. It’s definitely a unique one but it just didn’t work for me, which is unfortunate because it was a really brave ending for an anime to have taken.

Overall I think Mob Psycho 100 was a decent anime while it lasted. The first half was memorable while the second half felt like a slog. Still, it’s good enough that you should give it a try.

6.5/10

It’s alright I guess?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

