Finally solved my horrible windows 10 .Net 3.5 error

God sometimes I hate trying new things. Windows 10 has so many bugs that its not even funny… But that aside, I finally managed to find a fix for the ridiculous error where .Net 3.5 can’t be installed. And if you game, you’d know that some games require it so if you can’t get it to work on your PC you’re basically fucked.

I managed to get it to download AND install properly after a week of googling and tearing my head out. Keep in mind that it may not work, but it doesn’t hurt to give it a try.

1. Uninstall Windows Update KB3199986

Go to programs and feature and click ‘View Installed updates‘ which can be found on the left. A list of installed windows updates should pop up. Scroll through the list or just search for KB3199986.

Click it. And then click uninstall, which will appear right beside the ‘organize’ button.

Keep in mind, the process will take quite some time, so don’t be alarmed if you see the progress bar getting stuck several times.

2. Restart your computer

Once you’ve uninstalled the windows update, restart your computer. It will take quite awhile so again, don’t worry. Wait until it turns on and proceed to the next step.

3. Go to windows update and download the latest update.

I hear cries of “wait, wut??” but trust me, just do this. This was what I did, and i guess reinstalling the update fixed the bug by itself. Wait for the update to finish downloading and then restart the computer again.

4. Download Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1

Find and download the .Net Framework as stated above. Link is here. I’ve tried installing other similar .net frameworks but funnily enough, this one managed to install – thus ending my problems. Make sure it is service pack 1 and not the standalone .Net 3.5.

Well, that’s all I did. I hope this works for anyone having the same problems. And Microsoft, please fix your shit. Now if you’d excuse me, I’ll be playing Paladins now.

Leave a Reply

