Thoughts on – Kindred Spirits on the Roof (Demo)

With the game being released on steam today, I thought it would be a good opportunity to sort out my thoughts on the demo version released by MangaGamer.
calender

This visual novel demo has proven itself to be surprising. In a good way!

The character and background designs are beautiful. I can’t really compare it to other visual novels since I haven’t played many but I was initially very shocked when I first booted up the game, the first few opening scenes giving me a good dollop of nice and crisp scenery. The only other Yuri visual novels I’ve played were the Sono hanabira ones –which every Yuri fan needs to try regardless of whether you like Hentai or not– and while those games were enjoyable, they rarely ever took your breath away.

The music/soundtracks are also pleasant and fit the game perfectly. It’s not grating on the ears (thankfully) and in my opinion, adds to the experience rather than detract from it. Which is great news, because shitty music can kill a decent visual novel. That’s not to say that it’s without fault though, since it does loop several times over the course of the demo. But still, I quite like it.

So right off the bat, my expectations for Kindred Spirits on the roof (available via steam as well) went straight through the roof (pun intended). It also helped that I was already pretty hyped for the game, drip fed news of the game’s reckoning from awesome sites like Yuri reviews and Yurination whose mail listings I am subscribed to.

I dropped about 3 hours on the demo itself so far, and I’m very pleased to say that this game will be worth its price tag. The writing and dialogue that I have read/seen so far is very good. Unlike sono hanabira, there is a lack of cheesiness in the writing, which is something I can appreciate. One thing I love about the dialogue is how distinct it is, in regards to each of the many characters that were introduced.

I don’t want to tread into spoiler territory so I’ll just be briefly talking about my basic impression of the main characters.

yuna cool gl yo

I actually thought that Toomi Yuna (the one on the right) was going to be one of those kuudere types. I blame this on her typical resting face, making her look like she’s bored all the time. But she has proven herself otherwise. Her thoughts are pleasant to read, and her neutral view of the world around her is something that I really like.

Very often, we’re put in the shoes of characters who have very strong stances on something or might be prejudiced in one way or another, but in Yuna’s case –  I think that’s she’s a very understanding girl. At first glance, she might seem apathetic. But as I continued playing the demo, she proves me wrong. I think that Yuuna is someone who greatly respects another’s privacy. The first few chapters of a game prove that. It’s not that she doesn’t care about other people, it’s just that she feels like it’s not her place to meddle in their lives.

From the small hints here and there, I have a feeling that Yuna is trying to shut out her past, and I’m looking forward to finding out what she’s hiding once I purchase the game.

kindred
Sachi in black, Megumi in white.

The other two main characters are Megumi and Sachi.

Again, I don’t want to spoil too much of the game because I believe that it’s best experienced for yourself, but from what I have seen of them so far – I can safely say that they are more than just pretty faces.

This VN does something neat, and instead of just going through the game from the eyes of one character, we’re able to see what happens between the various other couples that the games gives us via calendar. This mechanic allows us to take a First person POV with some of the other characters, which make us privy to their inner workings and thoughts. This is fantastic for character development because we get to see a side of themselves which they are not presenting to the world.

From what I’ve seen of Megumi so far, she has a jealous streak a mile wide. She’s fiercely protective of Sachi and her paranoia can be both funny and annoying at times. Sachi on the other hand, balances her out with her level headed thinking and calm nature. Truly, they’re perfect couple to be described with the phrase ‘opposites attract’.

All in all, this demo gave me a taste of what was to come. I can expect good writing and a lot of good hours with the game and I think anyone who decides to get it will too. Hopefully, 2016 will see many more Yuri visual novels or animes being released

Leave a Reply

